Tags

, , , , , ,

Video posted online by gay rights activist coalition known as Equally Blessed.

Location:  inside a Catholic Church in Brazil . . . a sacred place.

July 23, 2013 Catechism Session led by Australian Bishop

A young lesbian named Ellen, with green hair, stood up and asked this question:

[I am here] “with a group of gay lesbian transgender and bi-sexual people who really are here because we love our church and we are part of our church.  But I feel such a contradiction between being marginalized and being told to minister to the marginalized.”

WILD APPLAUSE.

Australian Bishop D. Eugene Hurley’s partial response:

“ONE OF THE things I’ll say straight up is, as you know, God does not make mistakes.

“We’re beginning to make out ‘what does it mean to love?’  And I want to say to you that you’ve got an enormous contribution to make, Ellen, as we understand the phenomenon of homosexuality and sexuality in general.”

He continues . . .

“In recent times, I talked with a young (gay) man who said to me, ‘I crawl around in a man’s toilet, having sex with men I’ve never met:  do you think I’d choose that? I’d have been in love with a heterosexual and I’m not.  So where does the church mention me?'”

The bishop addresses Ellen – “I urge you, if you would, to talk compassionately and transparently and urgently to the leadership of the church where you are; so that we might have a better understanding of God’s plan for the Church — and all of us — how we work together to find holiness in the reality of our sexuality.”

WILD APPLAUSE.

Transcribed by FIDELITY and ACTION off the video.

  • The transcription of Bishop Hurley’s interview afterward is available online at VATICAN RADIO.

    bishop hurley australia

    Bishop Hurley

ABOUT EQUALLY BLESSED . . . from their website

Equally Blessed is a coalition of four Catholic organizations that have spent more than 120 years working on behalf of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and their families.

Collectively and individually, Call To Action, DignityUSA, Fortunate Families, and New Ways Ministry are devoted to informing, supporting and giving voice to the growing majority within the Catholic Church in the United States that favors equality under law for LGBT people.

Related:

“A Church for Gay People” – Catholic News Agency

